Six Science Cities

Newcastle is one of six English cities designated as a Science City by Gordon Brown in December 2004, Chancellor of the Exchequer at that time. These are Birmingham, Bristol, Manchester, Newcastle, Nottingham and York. Collectively these have formed a national Science Cities Development Group. The aims and objectives of the group are:-

  • To develop and promote the Science Cities so they become internationally recognised as vibrant knowledge based centres of excellence.
  • To share experience in developing and implementing plans for Science Cities.
  • To build an evidence base of projects (demonstrating the implementation of best practice and nature/scale of impact) contributing to the delivery of Science City objectives.
  • To advise and influence proactively all parts of central, regional and local government and its agencies, including the funding and research councils to secure support for the development of Science Cities.
  • To review and engage proactively in joint projects to contribute to mobilising Science Cities in support of national objectives (e.g. inward investment).
  • To provide a cohesive united body with a strong voice for innovation and technology-based enterprise outside the South East of England.
  • To ensure that Science City activities are included in major economic and regeneration initiatives and linked to strategic plans of other relevant organisations.

Welcome to the future

Would you like to know more about Newcastle Science City?

Further Information

Advertising Campaign
Gain an insight into the new Newcastle Science City advertising campaign.
Newcastle University
To find out more about Newcastle University click on the link below.
BBC Science & Nature
To find out more about BBC Science & Nature click on the link below.
International Centre for Life
To find out more about the International Centre click on the link below.